Skip to main content

What should I do immediately after an accident?

Follow these steps:

Remain calm

Make sure everyone is alright

Call for medical assistance if necessary

Contact the police

Take pictures

By reporting the accident to the police and filing a report, you will help protect yourself from potential liability claims and legal action. Exchange the following information with involved parties:

Consult an attorney before giving a recorded statement or signing a release for an insurance company

  • Names of drivers and passengers

  • Addresses of drivers and passengers

  • Driver’s license numbers

  • Insurance company information

  • License plate number of vehicles involved

  • Names and telephone numbers of witnesses

  • Road and weather conditions

  • Location of accident (street / city)

Personal Injury Law FAQs

Will I be paid for the time I am losing from work?

Massachusetts requires auto insurers to provide Personal Injury Protection benefits, which cover lost wages and other expenses resulting from a car accident up to $8,000. You should speak to a personal injury attorney about whether you are eligible, depending on the circumstances of your accident, the nature of your injuries and the total amount of your expenses.

New Hampshire automobile policies generally do not have provisions for lost wages, but there are ways to account for your lost pay as part of a settlement.

Will my medical bills be paid?

Massachusetts requires auto insurers to provide Personal Injury Protection benefits, which can cover medical bills and other expenses incurred resulting from an accident up to $8,000, minus any deductible that you have. If you have health insurance, you can submit any uncovered expenses – including copays and deductibles – to your auto insurer. Talk to a personal injury lawyer about whether your specific injuries meet the criteria.

New Hampshire automobile policies generally contain some payments for medical bills called Med Pay. We can discuss with you the best way to handle your bills – whether that is through Med Pay, health insurance, or some combination thereof.

What happens if the person who hit my car does not have insurance?

Oftentimes, your own insurance company offers uninsured motorist coverage, which enables your own insurance to step in to cover damages sustained by being hit by an uninsured automobile. If you suffered serious injury and incurred costly medical bills, you may have a personal injury case. Schedule a free consultation with our team.

What if I don’t have health insurance?

If you do not have health insurance in Massachusetts and you have been injured in a car accident, you have options. Massachusetts has ‘no fault benefits’, also called Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which may cover your medical expenses. 

Do I have a personal injury case?

Send us a summary of how your accident happened and what your injuries are. Brown and Goldberg, PC will review your details to see if you have a case. This review is free and all information is kept confidential.

We’re on your side.

Schedule a no-cost consultation by filling out the form below or call 978.469.1972